Erin Ijesha waterfall in Nigeria

Image of fountain located at the entrance of erin ijesha waterfall in osun state

Erin Ijesha Waterfall is located in Erin-Ijesha. It is a tourist attraction located in Osun State, Nigeria. Erin Ijesha Waterfall has many attractive features for tourists. Among the numerous attractive sights in Erin Ijesha Waterfall is the 7 levels. This article will take you to each of these levels and their unique attributes.

Before talking about the 7 levels of the Erin-Ijesa waterfall, let’s have a brief history of this waterfall. Erin-Ijesa waterfall is located in Osun State, the western part of Nigeria. The popular name was Erin-Ijesa Waterfall was derived from the name of the town where it’s exactly located. Erin-Ijesa waterfall is also known as the ‘Olumirin’ waterfall. Olumirin simply means ‘Another deity’.

There have been a few controversies on how or who first discovered Erin-Ijesa. Some are of the opinion that the waterfall was discovered by the daughter of Oduduwa, while others believed it was discovered by a hunter. Whoever might have discovered this beautiful location found great treasure for the people of Osun state as it’s one of the places that has been attracting visitors to the state both within and outside the shore of Nigeria.

People Also Read Igbo Olodumare | A Mysterious Forest

image of the stairs located in Erin Ijesha

What Makes Erin Ijesa Waterfall Attractive for Tourists

Erin-Ijesa has seven levels. Some of these levels are easier to climb while some are difficult. A successful climbing to the 7th level is a successful journey to another state, Ekiti State.

7 levels of Erin Ijesa Waterfall.

The first floor has the beauty of a waterfall more than any other floor in Erin-Ijesa. Nevertheless, most tourists to Erin Ijesa waterfall relax more and enjoy their trip there on the second floor where they can swim, especially during the rainy season.

The third floor is a different ball game for the strong and brave. It’s not so easy to climb but it’s worth the fun if you can do it. Related to this, but not as difficult as the third is; fourth, fifth and sixth floors.

The last level, which is the 7th level is where you will be welcomed into a village, called Abake, in Ekiti state. You can have a great view of nature from the 7th level.

These 7 levels of the Erin Ijesa Waterfall will remind you that life is in stages with its own beauty and values. To really attain some stages in life, perseverance and determination are needed.

The people of Erin Ijesa

The people of Erin-Ijesa are friendly and accommodating. You can never be lost. They love to help foreigners and value those who value nature which has made the name of that town one of the most populous towns in the world of tourism in Africa.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here